Arsenal crowned the FA Shield at the expense of Liverpool

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Arsenal won the FA Shield for the 16th time in its history, after defeating Liverpool in a penalty shootout 5-4 after the end of the original time of the match with a 1-1 draw, at the start of the new season 2020-2021.

The match between Liverpool, who are crowned Premier League champions, and Arsenal, the cup champion, was held at Wembley Stadium.*

The goal for Arsenal was scored by Gabonese star Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang in the 12th minute of an organized attack from the right side.

Liverpool equalized in the 73rd minute through its Japanese player Takumi Minamino, who took advantage of the ball’s arrival after a defensive error and confusion from the Arsenal players and faced the goal and then deposited it to the left of the goalkeeper.

The two teams ruled after the end of normal time, with a 1-1 draw, to the penalty shootout that Arsenal decided in favor of them 5-4, to add to the club the second title in 2020.