EURO 2020: The 12 cities will remain the same in 2021

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The European Union of Football Association (UEFA) confirmed today, Wednesday, that the 12 cities that were to host the European Cup 2020, will remain the same when the tournament is held in the summer of 2021, after being postponed due to the emerging Coronavirus.

The Assistant Secretary-General of the Federation, Giorgio Marchetti, said in a press conference today, on the sidelines of the meeting of the Federation’s Executive Committee, that “the 12 cities decided mainly, have been confirmed.”

The tournament was scheduled to be held between June 12 and July 12, 2020, in 12 cities from 12 countries, but the “Covid-19” epidemic pushed to postpone it until next summer, specifically between June 11 and July 11, 2020.

UEFA president Slovenian Alexander Severin recently hinted that the number of the 12 cities may not remain stable, hinting that it may be cut.

However, the continental committee, which started on Wednesday with a two-day executive committee meeting, confirmed the retention of the 12 cities: Amsterdam (Netherlands), Baku (Azerbaijan), Bilbao (Spain), Bucharest (Romania), Budapest (Hungary), Copenhagen (Denmark), Dublin (Ireland), Glasgow (Scotland), Munich (Germany), St. Petersburg (Russia), in addition to the two Italian capitals, Rome, which will host the opening match, and English, London, which is to host the semi-final and final games.

The tournament, which celebrates its 60th anniversary in 2020, will retain its current name, “European Cup 2020” when it is held next year.