Google Create Digital Will And Testament After your death

Have you ever thought about the fate of your photos, videos, and everything else you’ve stored on your Google Account? After your death, it is important that you add it later to your list because it is easy to implement.

Your Google Account may be the last thing you think about when you write your will. It’s the same as disconnecting from your digital life, but it’s good to add it to your list because it’s easy to do even after you die.

Think of all the photos your family and loved ones would like to have, or the personal account information your heirs might need to know after you die. There may be important files stored in Google Drive, someone needs to access them. For all these reasons, you can take five minutes of your time and tell Google what you will do with your data.

Create a plan with Google

The first step is to inform Google that you will prepare a plan for your account to continue after your death or not.

1. Visit myaccount.google.com.
2. Under the “Privacy and Personalization” category, click “Data Management and Personalization.”
3. Scroll down the page until you see “Download, delete or create a plan for your data” and choose “Create a plan for your account”.
4. Click Start.

Update your contact information

Then you will need to determine when Google should contact you.

1. From there, tell Google when to consider your account as inactive. Click the pencil icon to choose a period of inactivity of 3, 6, 12, or 18 months in your account before taking action, and then click Save.

2. Add your phone number (so that Google can contact you after your account is idle for the period you specified in the point above). You can add your phone number or someone’s phone number.

3. Add an email and a recovery email. Google will continue to contact you by e-mail when your account is suspended after the specified waiting period.

4. At the bottom of the page, click Next. 

Choose anything you want Google to notify

In this section, Google allows you to add up to 10 people to tell them if your account is inactive based on your settings.

1. Click “Add Person” to add one email at a time.

2. You’ll choose from the list of items you want to share with each person you’ve added, such as your calendar, contacts, Google Drive, Google Photos, Gmail. This section helps you preserve your privacy even after you die.

3. Enter the phone number of each person you choose so that Google can contact them if your account becomes inactive. You can also add a personal message to send to this person.

Indicate if you want to delete your account.

You can choose to delete your Google Account as soon as it becomes inactive. If you allow users to access your account, they will have three months to download your content.

1. Choose the option if you want Google to delete your inactive account.

2. Click “Review Plan”.

3. After you’ve verified what you’re looking for for your Google Account, choose “Confirm Plan.”

4. At any time, if you decide that you do not want to delete your inactive account, you can still choose “Disable my plan”.

Loading...