You use Messenger… Never click on the link!

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Messenger users have been warned not to open a message that reads “Look what I found”, as it could give hackers full access to their Facebook accounts.

Security experts warn that this nasty scam, first spotted last year, is back and could allow hackers to gain access to very personal data. This new threat appears to be escalating around the world and is certainly a threat that should be closely monitored.

Those who have been scammed will be taken to a fake Facebook page which then pulls user data where the person types in their name and password.

This vital information can then be used to discover personal data and even install malware on devices. Worse, once the scammer has access to the Facebook account, he can also raid the address list and send malicious texts to more users.

This isn’t the first time that Messenger scams have surfaced online, with users recently being targeted with the message “Is this your picture in this video?” Is this you in this video?.

Hackers use these very tempting phrases because they know that many will want to click on the link to find out exactly what the message is. Another tactic used by the scammer is to put funny emojis in the text which helps to make things look friendlier.

If you receive any of these messages, the advice is clear, never click on the link as it may leave your entire Facebook account open to attack. And if you think you’ve been cheated, it’s a good idea to head straight to Facebook and change your password in the settings menu. This will prevent hackers from accessing your account.

Loading...